NOPE. NOT TODAY. POP goes Mam.

I’m quietly fuming as I sit here typing.

It is the Monday after “Out weekend” . “Out weekend”  means that all our learners residing in the school hostel go home for the weekend. Home can be anywhere. Nearby towns, townships or locations. Visiting a house, a flat or worst case scenario : a shack in a location built from cardboard boxes and everything and anything the owner could find. Township land belongs to the municipality. You are allowed to build a shack on it but not a permanent structure. Throughout South Africa, hundreds of thousands of shacks make dense townships which grapple with fires, floods and sanitation problems. Large families live together in one room. Not a healthy atmosphere for growing teenagers.

I find the kids extremely difficult on the first day back after “Out weekend.” Some are exhausted, most are hyper , most have forgotten how to control themselves in a classroom. Many have spent the weekend wandering around without supervision, smoking and drinking until the early hours of the morning. A big number did not see Mum or Dad or both,  as they are living and working in other provinces of the country. Granny or Auntie was ” in charge “of them and possibly many more siblings and cousins all thrown together.

So…MONDAY. After “Out Weekend”.

Gr 10’s were louder than normal, chirping more than usual, some were glassy-eyed, unable to respond to a simple question.

My first Gr 9 class of the day almost had me in tears. They simple could not calm down. I chose the “ignore it” route first and started the lesson. Every time my back was turned they talked, commented, joked around. I issued a warning to the first one I caught out.

He ignored me, so I sent him out with a punishment essay to copy in the passage where I could keep an eye on him. This , he couldn’t deal with, arguing all the way.

I left Mr Still Arguing outside and returned to the rest of the class. A few more unruly beings found their way to the passage.

NOTHING worked today.

I’m frustrated and concerned. It’s week 8 of the Term and my energy is at an all time low.

If I don’t get the kids back on track TOMORROW I won’t finish the prescribed tasks for the Term.

Days like these give me sleepless nights.

 

 

 

Published by MAM!

I spend my life amongst teenagers...teaching them some English, some survival skills, some life skills and sometimes some basic skills. As in don't fart in class, don't scream in class, don't ask to go to the bathroom if it has just been break. Don't interrupt me, don't scribble on my desks, don't be late. I love my job. I love my kids. Many days they drive me crazy. Most days they give me hope.

One thought on “NOPE. NOT TODAY. POP goes Mam.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started